top of page
Writer's pictureLana Pummill

What My Children Teach Me


What My Children Teach Me
“While we try to teach our children all about life, our children teach us what life is all about.” -Angela Schwindt

I love to open up with my favorite quotes or quotes that inspired me to write a particular blog. What I find interesting is that I found very, very few quotes on what children teach their parents and a TON of quotes about parents teaching their children. I guess this was surprising to me because I seem to find that my children teach me just as much as I teach them. I just have to be open to learning.


My boys have taught me:

To love with crazy, reckless abandon. Give big hugs and wet kisses. Running so fast to hug you that they knock you over always makes them giggle. Our children haven’t been hurt by the world yet (hopefully) so they love like they have never been hurt. It is a sweet thing to feel like you are loved so much by someone who no matter what you do, they will love you still. My children are quick to forgive me even when I put their milk in the wrong color sippy cup. 🙂


Put your own twist on everything. Do your own thing and put your spin on it. My boys don’t have to be doing the same thing. They like to be in the same room, but they also just like doing what they want to do. They have their own unique personalities and they are both ok with who they are.


It is all about the little things. I watch my boys and they are so overjoyed with the small things. Both of them love boxes! They love the windows down in our truck. They love to watch bubbles fly in the sky. I am trying to do the same thing. For example, my morning coffee is a huge thing for me!! 🙂 Doesn’t take much, but that smell of your first cup is amazing.


Learn from your mistakes. This is a huge one. Kids are constantly making “mistakes” while growing up and told by their parents what they did wrong and how they can fix it. Most of the time my boys just say, “ok, mama.” I love how they don’t let mistakes get them down. They learn from it, move on, and do it differently the next time. So many adults get caught up in their mistakes and can’t forgive themselves enough to let go and move on.


Never give up. My boys don’t quit. They get something in their head and they are going to accomplish it.


There is always time to slow down. This is one that they work on “teaching” me every day. Life is so short. Take the time to slow down, pick the flower, and watch the bug crawl into its hole. I get so caught up in my “to do” list that I forget that tomorrow they will be a day older.


Be kind. My boys are always so kind to everyone they meet and everyone is their friend. Yes, I know I have to teach them “stranger danger” and I do, but it is refreshing sometimes to revel in their innocence.


Be amazed. Never forget how it felt to experience something the first time. Kids are amazed by everything.


My boys taught me that persistence and humor can get you almost anything. I’ve learned that silence isn’t always golden. They teach me patience every single day! According to my two-year-old, when you are grouchy jumping on the bed makes it all better. I’ve learned I have to watch what I say because they will repeat it and it never fails to be at the worst moment. (Oops) I am reminded to apologize because I always make them apologize. I’ve learned to be silly, to be brave, and to never turn down an adventure. I’ve learned to take on new challenges with a smile. They have taught me to ask questions, trust, feel your emotions and show your emotions without fear. They have taught me that some days it is ok to stay in your pajamas all day. Pop Tarts are good any time of day. Slushies fix every pain. Clothes don’t have to match. Mama kisses are better than any drug or bandaid.


They have taught me to love more than I ever thought possible. I would not take these lessons back for a thing in the world. They are my greatest teachers. 🙂



What My Children Teach Me Pin

“Your son will hold your hand for only a little while, but will hold your heart for a lifetime.” -Unknown


19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

ความคิดเห็น


bottom of page