top of page
Writer's pictureLana Pummill

A Letter to My Son: What I Wish

Updated: Oct 17, 2023


A Letter to My Son: What I Wish

A letter to my son before his first day of pre-k.


"You can steer yourself in any direction you choose.” – Dr. Seuss

Dearest Nikola,

You are my firstborn, which means all your firsts are also firsts for me. When you go off to pre-k on Monday, it will be like my first day of school all over again. I can’t believe this day is already here. It seems like just yesterday that your Daddy and I were coming home with this new bundle of joy. God gave you to me to take care of, and now I feel like I have to let go a little bit. I have to trust that you can do this and that you will be just fine. I have some wishes for you, my sweet boy, and even though you might not understand them now, you will one day.


picture of pre-kindgarten classroom


Remember To Be Kind


"No act of kindness, no matter how small, is ever wasted." -Aesop

This is the beginning of character-building for you. No matter what, remember to be kind. I want the children and the people you meet to see what I see: a boy with a heart of gold. You will see children that are different. You will see children that have more than you, some that have less than you, and some that look different or talk different, but remember to be kind. The heart is what makes a person, not what is on the outside. Something that seems small to you might seem so large to someone else.


Smile.


“Nothing you wear is more important than your smile.” -Connie Stevens

Have fun. I know that you might be nervous. I know that it might be a little scary. Buddy, I’ll tell you a little secret: your classmates feel the same way. Your smile might give other students the confidence to walk up to you and say “hi,” and who knows, maybe this person will become your best friend. Your smile brings out the best in me. Let it do the same for others.


Things won’t always go your way.


“When something goes wrong in your life, just yell, ‘PLOT TWIST,’ and move on.” -Unknown

Life is going to be hard. School might not always be predictable, but I pray you learn to go with the flow. Don’t react with fear or anger. Change is good.


Listen and learn.


“One of the most sincere forms of respect is actually listening to what another has to say.” -Bryant H. McGill

Your teachers and fellow classmates have so much to teach you, but you must listen. Open your eyes, mind, and ears, and no one will be able to stop you. You are so smart. True intelligence comes from knowing when to speak and when to listen. If you want to be heard, give others the same respect.



Box of Crayons with child coloring letter to my son

Ask Questions.


“The art and science of asking questions is the source of all knowledge.” -Thomas Berger

Remember to ask questions if you feel lost, scared, or overwhelmed during the day. Questions are ok. Questions are good. There is no such thing as a stupid question.


Allow yourself to be amazed.


“Many children… delight in the small and inconspicuous.” -Rachel Carson

This world is a beautiful place, and there is so much out there for you to see and learn. Please, don’t lose the ability to be amazed. I wish I could see the world through your eyes. I pray you continue to be “wowed.”


Believe in yourself.


“Believe in yourself. You are braver than you think, more talented than you know, and capable of more than you imagine.” -Roy T. Bennett

Always believe in yourself. I do. Your daddy does. Kiddo, I am your biggest fan. Never give up.


If you see a child sitting alone at breakfast or sitting alone at recess…


“The only way to have a friend is to be one.” -Ralph Waldo Emerson

Go sit with them or ask if they want to play. Remember this might be you one day and you would want someone to do this for you.


Speak up.


“Ten people who speak make more noise than ten thousand who are silent.” -Napoleon Bonaparte

Let the world hear your voice. Don’t be afraid to answer questions and show how much you know. Don’t be afraid to be wrong or to be right. You are worth being heard.




Remember, your little brother looks up to you.


“Sometimes being a brother is even better than being a superhero.” -Marc Brown

Remember that your little brother is watching you. Be a guiding light for him. When you learn something new, come home and teach your brother. He loves you so very much.


No matter how bad or good your day is, remember this…


“Courage doesn’t always roar. Sometimes courage is the quiet voice at the end of the day saying I will try again tomorrow.” -Mary Anne Radmacher

I will be waiting for you at the end of the day. You get to go home. I want to hear all about your day and everything that you have learned. I’m proud of you.


Remember that God loves you. Remember that you are made for greatness. This is the beginning for you, Baby Boy, and I can’t wait to see all that you will accomplish.


Your Mommy Loves You!


Love This Post? Pin For Later!

A Letter to My Son: What I Wish

“But those who hope in the LORD will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.” Isaiah 40:31

8 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page